top of page


The Kansai region (関西地方, Kansai-chihō, pronounced [kã̠ɰ̃sa̠i t͡ɕiho̞ː]) or the Kinki region (近畿地方, Kinki-chihō, [kʲĩŋʲkʲi t͡ɕiho̞ː]), lies in the southern-central region of Japan's main island Honshū.


The region includes the prefectures of NaraWakayamaKyoto

OsakaHyōgo and Shiga, often also Mie, sometimes FukuiTokushima and 

Tottori. While the use of the terms "Kansai" and "Kinki" have changed over history, in most modern contexts the use of the two terms is interchangeable. The metropolitan region of OsakaKobe and Kyoto (Keihanshin region) is the second-most populated in Japan after the Greater Tokyo Area.

bottom of page